top of page
  • alliecapps

REFLECTION

Updated: May 1, 2022

My first year of college has taught me many things. Not only have I learned academically, but I have also learned personally. I have learned so much about myself and my potentials through all of my courses as a freshman at TCU. Taking english 10803 was a big part of that, as I was pushed outside of my comfort zone on multiple occasions. To start, I am typically a quiet and shy person who is not very confident in my writing. Having to share our work was a big part of this class, and in doing so pushed me to be more confident and open to others. I also learned how others write (whether that be through classmates or mentor texts) and that really helped inspire and guide me as to how I can go about my own writing. Since I also like to keep to myself, I typically do not speak up in classroom settings. While having the notecard system and being called on did give me a little bit of anxiety, it helped me get over some fears of voicing my opinions and speaking in front of others. This class really helped me look at things in the real world differently and realize the challenges others have faced. I think the mentor texts and mentor text talks were a big part of that, as I got to see things from my classmates perspectives rather than just my own.


I think I also grew a lot this school year as I faced many new challenges and experiences. First off, I went to an online public school for my junior and senior year of high school. Going to college and getting used to being around people in a school setting again, really changed my perspective. I also got to make real face-to-face connections with people and experience in person events. This year was also a change as I had more independence and freedom such as living in a dorm or making my class schedule however I like. I also went through a lot emotionally this semester as I was balancing cheer with school. I have been cheering since I was five years old, but having the flexibility of online school my last two years of high school really spoiled me. Being at a college level and cheering an hour away took a huge toll on me. I honestly don’t think i’ve ever been as overwhelmed and stressed out as I was this year. Going straight from classes and driving an hour to practice, practicing for three hours, then having to drive another hour just to get back to my dorm at almost midnight (not to mention multiple times a week) was a lot. It also probably did not help the fact that I am currently a graphic design pre-major and had projects and sketchbook assignments constantly due. It was definitely a very tough year for me while juggling everything. I am also very hard on myself and a people-pleaser so the feeling of not doing my best or letting someone down is terrifying to me. Overall, through the good and bad times, these are opportunities and experiences I wouldn’t have had if I didn’t experience my freshman year of college or even if I had continued on a solely online path.


This whole school year has been a crazy new and exciting time in my life and I am excited to see what college will look like where I actually have free time and less stress as I will no longer be cheering. I am ready to focus on myself and school as I continue to learn and grow. I’m thankful for this first year at TCU and all of the experiences that have come with it. I am also very thankful for the classes i have taken as they have overall pushed me outside of my comfort zone and made me realize so much about myself. I honestly can’t say that I have loved my college experience thus far, but I have definitely faced a lot of growth and learned so much and i am excited to see where my future takes me - wherever and whatever that may be.


Lastly, I just want to say thank you. Thanks for teaching such a great class and just being a kind person. I truly learned so much from you and your class made this semester bearable. I am excited to apply all the knowledge that I have gathered from this class to everything in the future. Hopefully you can teach me again during my time at TCU!


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

PART THREE - FINAL CAMPAIGN

My goal for part three/final campaign, is to inform students of the challenges/PROS and CONS of balancing college life and extracurriculars. This is something I have personally struggled with, while b

FEEDBACK

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1MPpm3EU1KTG1q4Wc3JICLkxBTVdmwGOZR88zwOxH7Ow/edit?usp=sharing

PART TWO - WHERE I AM NOW

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1pg-UxoySxe0fm8-v3kiA1inHgky6B4UiBhDrFkH_M18/edit?usp=sharing

bottom of page